8 Classical Dance Of India By Natya Shastra And Sangeet-Natak Akademi

We can call the classical dance of India as sastriya nrutya. It is believed that Indian classical dance is 5000 years old. We found the prove from different monument and caves. Proves are in the form of statue and painting. In the Indus valley civilization, we found a dancing girl statue. So it is proof of the existence of dance that it is 5000 years old. We found dancing statues in the various temple of India like the Konark temple. From this example, we guess that Indian classical dance is 5000 years old.

Type of dance


The first formal mention of dance found in the Bharat muni’s book named Natyashastra. In dances, it is believed that dance is a form of art. Where the body is the medium of communication. Dance is a heritage of India. And dance is at least 5000 years old. It is believed that dance is of divine origin. Lord SHIVA’S dancing statue Natraja is the supreme manifestation of Indian dance.

Folk dance-

Folk is a traditional dance of community, place or group. It can be related to a festival or an event. It is performed according to folk music. This type of dances doesn’t have any type of norms.

Indian Classical dance-

this type of dance describing the characters of god, goddess and religious scriptures. We can call this type of dance classical dance. This type of dance has particular norms. And the dancer has to perform with the norms.


Classical dance of India 


Norms of classical dance

We found that several types of dance in India. But out of them, only 8 dance are known as classical dance. Because the dance has to obey some norm to called classical dance. The norms are-

1-the dance should obey the rules of Natya shastra book written by Bharat muni.

2-the dance should have the tradition of Guru-shishya. The dance should teach by Gugu and learn by shishya.

3- Lastly the dance recognized by Sangeet-Natak Akademi.

The aspect of classical dance by the Natya sastra book

1-Lasya – it is described as a feminine feature in dance

2- Tandab – it describes the male aspect in dance



There are 9 types of rasas in classical dance. Rasas mean the emotions in dance-like anger, love, horror etc. and these are-

      Rasas                          Meaning

1-Shringar-                          Love

2-Hasya-                             Humor

3-Karuna-                           Compassion

4-Raudra-                            Anger

5-Bhayankar-                      Horror

6-Veer-                                 Heroic

7-Adbhut-                            Wonder

8-Vibhatsa-                         Disgust

9-Shaant-                            Calm

8 classical dance of India list


1-Bharatnatyam- Tamilnadu

2-Kuchipudi- Andharpradesh

3-Kathakali- Kerla

4-Mohiniattam- Kerela

5-Odissi- Odisha

6-Manipuri- Manipur

7-Kathak- Uttar Pradesh

8-Sattariya- Assam


It is the complete information about classical dance. So we think you have a complete about the topic. If you have any doubt, suggestion, or feedback. Please mention this in the comment section.


To read more topic you can visit our home page.






1 thought on “8 Classical Dance Of India By Natya Shastra And Sangeet-Natak Akademi”

  1. The world of Indian dance is a vast and beautiful one, with countless forms and styles found throughout the country. Bharata Muni’s Natya Shastra, the oldest written records of dance in India, lists eight classical types of dances. I learn Bharatanatyam at Geethalayam Bharathanatyam for the past 15 years, where I have learnt all the navarasa to perform a complete item.


Leave a Comment